منهج ميدلوك الجغرافيا

النهج العام

يغطي منهج الجغرافيا الخاص بنا الاستحقاق الكامل المنصوص عليه في المنهج الوطني - المراحل الرئيسية للجغرافيا من 1 إلى 2 وهو متاح لجميع الأطفال ، مهما كانت احتياجاتهم الخاصة. نحن نبني تعلمنا في الجغرافيا لندرك أن اكتساب المعرفة ، وتطوير المهارات ، لفهم تلك المعرفة هي جوانب تكميلية لفهم الأطفال المتزايد.

بينما يتم تطوير المعرفة والمهارات معًا بشكل عام ، فإننا ندرك أنه في بعض الأحيان قد يحتاج الأطفال أولاً إلى تزويدهم بالمعرفة اللازمة قبل أن يتم دعمهم بعد ذلك في تطوير المهارات التي تظهر بشكل أفضل اكتسابهم المتزايد لمفاهيم معينة ومحتوى المناهج الدراسية.

Nile image.png

يتم تدريس الجغرافيا إما بشكل منفصل أو كجزء من موضوع أوسع مترابط. من أجل دعم الأطفال للانتقال من الفهم الأساسي إلى فهم أعمق وأكثر تقدمًا ، تعتمد دروسنا على المعرفة السابقة ، وربط ما بين الخلف والأمام للمساعدة في ترسيخ المعرفة النامية والفهم المفاهيمي للتلاميذ من سنة إلى أخرى ، نعود إلى المفتاح مفاهيم حتى يعرف أطفالنا المزيد ويتذكرون المزيد ولا نفترض أنه تم تذكر جميع مكونات التعلم المسبق الضرورية (خاصة بالنسبة للعديد من الأطفال الذين ينضمون إلينا في نقاط مختلفة من خلال المدرسة).

نتفق في ميدلوك مع الدكتورة ريتا جاردنر ، مديرة الجمعية الجغرافية الملكية (مع IBG) على أن هناك: "... عدد قليل من الطرق الأفضل لمساعدة الشباب على أن يصبحوا أكثر دراية وانخراطًا وربما احترامًا لبيئاتهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية بدلاً من الحصول عليها دراسة منطقتهم المحلية - من جغرافيتها التاريخية إلى العمليات الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية الحالية التي تشكل الأماكن التي يعيشون فيها ".

وبالتالي ، فإننا نضمن أن ما ندرسه في الجغرافيا وثيق الصلة بالمجتمع الذي نخدمه ونقيمه ، من خلال توفير فرص متباعدة للتعرف على المنطقة المحلية المباشرة ؛ يتم تعميق هذا التعلم وتوسيع نطاقه - لا سيما في المرحلة الرئيسية 2 - حيث يتم وضع "أردويك" ضمن نطاق عالمي حيث يتنقل الأطفال في المدرسة.

لقد قمنا أيضًا ببناء فرص خاصة للأطفال للتعرف على الأماكن في العالم التي تعكس تنوع سكان ميدلوك ، وهكذا في السنة الثانية يتعلم الأطفال عن نيجيريا ، في السنة الثالثة ينظرون إلى مصر ، في السنة الرابعة يتعلمون عنها البلدان الإسلامية وفي السنة 6 ينظرون إلى صحاري العالم ، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على الصحراء.

يتم إثراء المنهج بشكل أكبر من خلال العمل الميداني داخل وخارج أراضي المدرسة بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من الرحلات والفرص التي تأخذ الأطفال بعيدًا عن بوابة المدرسة. على سبيل المثال ، في السنة الثانية ، يعزز الأطفال تعلمهم في "البحار والمحيطات" من خلال زيارة الساحل ، في العام

Field work picture.png

4 لديهم الفرصة للمشاركة في دراسة النهر وفي السنة الخامسة يتم بناء ذلك عند إكمال العمل الميداني على طول قناة مانشستر.

إطار المناهج لدينا

ضمن كل موضوع جغرافي ، هناك فرص مخططة للأطفال لتطوير مهاراتهم وتطبيق هذه المهارات على البحث الجغرافي والعمل الميداني ؛ المساعدة في إثبات ما إذا كان الأطفال يعرفون المزيد. سيواجهون جوانب من ستة خيوط مترابطة تستند إلى مفاهيم الموضوعات الثلاثة الأولى في

المنهج الدراسي الوطني:

جغرافيا الموقع (النطاق والمساحة) - أين توجد الأماكن وأين توجد بالنسبة للآخرين.

المكان - ما هي الأماكن

الإنسان - ملامح من صنع الإنسان

الفيزيائية (الطبيعية) - السمات الطبيعية

لقد اخترنا تضمين شقين إضافيين:

النباتات والحيوانات - مجموعة فرعية من الخيوط الطبيعية ولكنها تعزز التعلم في علم الأحياء على وجه التحديد وتعتمد على المعرفة المتزايدة للأماكن التي تمت دراستها لمساعدة الأطفال على إقامة المزيد من الروابط

الاعتماد المتبادل - مساعدة الأطفال على فهم أن البشر لهم تأثير على البيئة - سواء إيجابيًا أو سلبيًا - وأن ما يمكنهم تحقيقه يتأثر أيضًا بالبيئة المادية للمناطق التي يعيشون فيها.

يتم تكرار الخيوط الستة الشاملة والبناء عليها في كل موضوع ، مما يمكّن الأطفال من العودة إلى المعرفة والمفاهيم. عند التعلم ، على سبيل المثال في السنة 6 عن صحاري العالم ، سيكون لدى الأطفال بعض المعرفة المسبقة المحددة للاستفادة منها من عملهم في مصر ، ولكن سيتمكنون أيضًا من إجراء مقارنات مع المناطق الأحيائية الأخرى المتناقضة ، مثل غابات الأمازون المطيرة وبناء المزيد تأمين المعرفة بالموقع حتى يفهموا بشكل أفضل كيف ولماذا تمتلك أجزاء من الكوكب مناظر طبيعية ومناخات مختلفة وكيف يؤثر ذلك على أولئك الذين يعيشون هناك.

يخطط مدرسونا لدروس من معرفة نقاط البداية السابقة للأطفال مع كل جلسة تهدف إلى الوصول إلى نقطة نهاية أكثر تحديًا. باستخدام نهج الاستفسار / الأسئلة في كل موضوع ، يتم تزويد الأطفال بالمعرفة التي يحتاجون إليها للإجابة على الأسئلة الأصغر مع كل مكون تعليمي يؤدي إلى فهم أفضل للأهداف الشاملة للموضوع. قم بتنزيل صفحة الأسئلة الخاصة بـ Rainforests للحصول على مثال على ذلك.

Geography-question-plan---yr-4-rainfores

ما قد تراه في الدرس

world-map.jpg
digimap.png
Y1-geography.jpg

في Medlock ، على الرغم من أن دروس الجغرافيا لدينا قد تبدو مختلفة ، إلا أنها تتبع جميعًا نفس الفرضية الأساسية التي مفادها أن جميع الجلسات يجب أن تحتوي على جوانب من:

البيانات الجغرافية - يمكن أن تكون البيانات داخل الجلسة عبارة عن خرائط (استخدام Digimaps / Google Earth أو ورقة) أو مصنوعات أو بيانات مرئية أو إحصائيات أو رسوم بيانية أو نصوص (حقيقية ومتخيلة)

الأفكار الجغرافية - التعميمات والمفاهيم والنظريات. نطرح أسئلة أو عبارات لتحدي التفكير أو تغيير الفهم.

السياقات الموضعية - تنظر الدروس إلى المكان بمقاييس مختلفة:

عالمية - قارية - دولة - إقليمية - مانشستر - أردويك - مدرسة. التكبير والتصغير لتطوير فهم الأطفال المكاني وفهم أن الأماكن / الظواهر الفيزيائية التي تتم دراستها ليست معزولة ولكنها مترابطة.

assessment.png

كما هو الحال مع جميع مجالات المنهج ، يجب أن يكون المعلمون في الجغرافيا واضحين بشأن نقاط نهاية الموضوع وكيف تتناسب مع التعلم السابق أو المستقبلي داخل أو خارج المرحلة الأساسية الحالية للطفل. لدعم ذلك ، سيقوم المعلمون ببناء تقييمات نهاية الموضوع بالإضافة إلى الفرص المنتظمة ، ضمن درس معين أو سلسلة من الدروس للتساؤل وقياس ما إذا كانت معرفة الأطفال وفهمهم أصبحوا أكثر أمانًا.

نحن ندرك أنه ، على النحو المنصوص عليه في المنهج الوطني ، من المتوقع بحلول نهاية كل مرحلة رئيسية أن يكون الأطفال قادرين على "معرفة وتطبيق وفهم الأمور والمهارات والعمليات المحددة في برنامج الدراسة ذي الصلة". نعمل حاليًا على تطوير مستند تقدم جديد يوازن بين المهارات التي يحتاج الأطفال إلى اكتسابها جنبًا إلى جنب مع وثيقة معرفية طويلة المدى أكثر شمولاً.

logo.png

Medlock Geography Curriculum

Overall Approach

Our geography curriculum covers the full entitlement set out in the National Curriculum - Geography key stages 1 to 2 and is made accessible to all children, whatever their particular needs.  We structure our learning in geography to recognise that the acquisition of knowledge, and the development of skills, to make sense of that knowledge are complementary aspects of children’s growing understanding.

 

Whilst knowledge and skills are generally developed together, we do recognise that sometimes children may first need to be provided with the necessary knowledge before they are then supported in developing skills that best demonstrate their growing acquisition of particular concepts and curriculum content.

Nile image.png

Geography is taught either discretely or as part of a wider inter-connected theme.  In order to support children to move from a basic understanding to a deeper, more advanced understanding, our lessons build on prior knowledge, linking backwards and forwards to help embed pupils’ developing knowledge and conceptual understanding from one year to another, We return to key concepts so that our children know more and remember more and we do not presume that all the necessary prior learning components have been remembered (particularly for the many children who join us at different points through school).

At Medlock we agree with Dr Rita Gardner, Director, Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) that there are: “…few better ways to help young people become more knowledgeable, engaged with and perhaps respectful of their local environments and communities than to get them studying their local area – from its historical geography to the current social, environmental and economic processes shaping the places they live in.”  

Consequently, we ensure that what we teach in geography is relevant to, and values, the community we serve, by providing spaced opportunities to learn about the immediate locality; this learning is deepened and widened - in particular in Key Stage 2 - where ‘Ardwick’ is placed within a global scale as the children move through the school.  

 

We have also specifically built in opportunities for the children to learn about places in the world that reflect the diversity of the Medlock population, and so in Year 2 children learn about Nigeria, in Year 3 they look at Egypt, in Year 4 they learn about Islamic countries and in Year 6 they look at the world’s deserts, with special focus on the Sahara.

The curriculum is further enriched by fieldwork within and beyond the school grounds as well as a range of trips and opportunities which take the children far beyond the school gate. For example, in Year 2 the children enhance their learning on ‘Seas and Oceans’ by visiting the coast, in Year 

Field work picture.png

4 they have the opportunity to take part in a river study and in Year 5 this is built upon when they complete fieldwork along a Manchester canal. 

Our Curriculum Framework

Within each geography topic, there are planned opportunities for children to develop their skills and to apply these skills to geographical enquiry and fieldwork; helping to demonstrate whether children know more. They will encounter aspects of six interconnected strands based upon the first three subject concepts in the

 

National Curriculum: 

Locational geography (scale and space) - where places are and where they are in relation to others. 

Place - what places are like

Human - man-made features

Physical (Natural) - natural features

We have chosen to include two further strands:

Plants and Animals - a sub-set of the natural strand but specifically reinforcing learning in biology and drawing on growing knowledge of the places studied to help children make further connections

Interdependence - helping children to understand that human beings have an impact on the environment – either positive or negative - and that what they can achieve is also affected by the physical environment of the areas in which they live.

The six overarching strands are repeated and built upon in every topic, enabling children to keep returning to knowledge and concepts. When learning, for example in Year 6 about the World’s deserts, children will have some specific prior knowledge to draw upon from their work on Egypt but will also be able to make comparisons to other contrasting biomes, such as the Amazonian rainforest and to build more secure locational knowledge so that they understand better how and why parts of the planet have different landscapes and climates and how this impacts upon those who live there.

Our teachers plan lessons from knowledge of children’s prior starting points with each session intended to build up to a more challenging end point. Using an enquiry/question-led approach within each topic, children are provided with the knowledge they need to answer smaller questions with each learning component leading to better understanding of the overarching aims of the topic. Download our Rainforests question web for an example of this.

Geography-question-plan---yr-4-rainfores

What you might see in a lesson

world-map.jpg
digimap.png

At Medlock, although our geography lessons might look different, they all follow the same basic premise that all sessions must contain aspects of:

Geographical Data - data within a session could be maps, (use of Digimaps/Google Earth or paper), artefacts, visual data, statistics, graphs or text (real and imagined)

Geographical Ideas - Generalisations, concepts and theories. We pose questions or statements to challenge thinking or shift understanding.

Locational Contexts - Lessons look at the place at different scales:

global – continental – country – regional – Manchester – Ardwick  - school. Zooming in and out to develop children’s spatial understanding and understanding that the places/ physical phenomena being studied are not isolated but interconnected.   

assessment.png

As with all areas of the curriculum, teachers in geography should be clear about the topic end points and how these fit beside other prior or future learning within or beyond the child’s current Key Stage. To support this, teachers will build in end-of-topic assessments as well as regular opportunities, within a particular lesson or series of lessons to question and gauge whether children’s knowledge and understanding is becoming more secure. 

We recognise that, as set out in the National Curriculum, by the end of each key stage children are expected to be able to “know, apply and understand the matters, skills and processes specified in the relevant programme of study”. We are currently developing a new progression document that balances the skills that children need to have acquired alongside a more comprehensive long-term knowledge document.

  • Twitter
  • YouTube

T: 0161 273 1830

© Medlock Primary School 2019