رؤية المنهج

في مدرسة Medlock الابتدائية ، تم تصميم مناهجنا للتعرف على تنوع المجتمع الذي نخدمه والاحتفاء به. إنه يوفر تجارب تعليمية هادفة تمكن أطفالنا من المشاركة بنشاط مع العالم من حولهم.

يشجع منهجنا طلابنا على أن يكونوا متعلمين فضوليين ومدروسين ونشطين ومرنين. يتطلب الأمر أن يحب الأطفال والكبار التعلم: لإجراء اتصالات وطرح الأسئلة والتفكير النقدي في العالم الذي يعيشون فيه.

يضمن منهجنا أن كل تجربة تعليمية هادفة يواجهها الأطفال هي نقطة انطلاق للمرحلة التالية من تعليمهم. نشجع أطفالنا على إيجاد أصواتهم ؛ مهما كان الشكل الذي قد يتخذه توفير الفرص للتعبير عن الذات يشجع على استخدام اللغة. الاتصال بجميع الوسائل: اللغة المنطوقة والكلمة المكتوبة ومنصات تكنولوجيا المعلومات.

يضمن منهجنا في جوهره أن يتحدى الطلاب الأفكار المسبقة حول العالم الذي يعيشون فيه ، ويستخدمون التعاطف واللطف للتحدث عما هو صحيح - مستنيرًا بفهمهم للقيم البريطانية - وتجهيزهم بشكل أفضل للاستعداد لحياتهم بعد مدرسة ميدلوك الابتدائية.

نية المنهج

في Medlock ، نتبع منهجنا المتسلسل في EYFS ، مدعومًا بالإرشادات القانونية لمنهج السنوات المبكرة ثم نتبع برامج الدراسة في المنهج الوطني لجميع المواد في السنوات 1-6.

في الرياضيات ، نتبع مخطط الرياضيات بلا مشكلة من الصفوف 1-6 ، والذي يفي بالمتطلبات المنصوص عليها في المنهج الوطني. نحن نؤمن بأن المعرفة والمهارات أمران حيويان لبناء الفهم ولذا فإننا نضمن أن منهجنا يشمل المعرفة.

تركز بعض الموضوعات ، مثل الفن ، DT ، PE والموسيقى بشكل أكبر على تنمية المهارات ولكنها تثريها معرفة الأشخاص والأحداث والأعمال ذات الأهمية. في مواضيع أخرى ، مثل العلوم ، يتعلم الأطفال المهارات جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعرفة ويتم تطوير كلاهما بشكل واضح. يتم تدريس المعرفة الجديدة أولاً ثم يتم تعزيزها من خلال تطوير المهارات.

تم تصميم مناهجنا بشكل متعمد للتأكد من أنها تقدمية ؛ متسلسلة بطريقة يتم بناؤها: ضمن درس ، من درس إلى درس ومن سنة إلى أخرى. يتم التخطيط لفرص بشكل صريح للأطفال لإعادة النظر في المفاهيم والمهارات وتطويرها في السنوات اللاحقة. حيثما أمكن ، يتم أيضًا إنشاء روابط بين الموضوعات وعبرها على سبيل المثال في موضوع السنة الثانية حول المحيطات ، حيث سيستكشفون المحيطات والقارات الرئيسية في العالم جنبًا إلى جنب مع فهم أوثق للموائل البحرية في العلوم بالإضافة إلى شخصية مهمة: جاك كوستو.

نعتقد أن هذا النهج مهم بشكل خاص لتمكين التعلم للالتزام. ضمن الموضوعات ، تم تحديد الخيوط الأساسية وإعادة النظر فيها ، مما يعني أن الأطفال لديهم فرص لإنشاء روابط وإثبات فهمهم لهذه المفاهيم الأساسية عامًا بعد عام. على سبيل المثال ، في التاريخ ، سيواجه الأطفال فكرة الاستيطان في فترات زمنية تاريخية مختلفة. يتم دعم ذلك من خلال التأكد من أن المهارات التي يتعلمها الأطفال أو يستخدمونها تصبح أكثر تحديًا كل عام بحيث يكون لديهم الأدوات اللازمة لإظهار وتطبيق المعرفة التي يتذكرونها على أفضل وجه.

هناك توقع بأن يكون لدى أولئك الذين يقدمون مناهجنا فهمًا آمنًا لما تعلمه الأطفال بالفعل وأين تناسب قطعة اللغز الخاصة بهم. ولدعم ذلك ، يتمتع المعلمون بفرص التخطيط ضمن فرق ، عبر مجموعات ومراحل العام ، وكذلك مع المتخصصين في الموضوع وكبار القادة.

يدرس جميع الطلاب في Medlock المنهج الكامل ؛ لم يتم تضييقها على أحد. لدينا نفس الطموح العالي لجميع تلاميذنا ، وبالتالي فإن التعلم سقالة بحيث يكون متطلبًا قدر الإمكان لجميع الطلاب ، وخاصة أولئك الذين لديهم SEND. عندما تكون التدخلات ضرورية ، نقوم بالتناوب عليها حتى لا يفوت التلاميذ نفس التعلم والخبرات بانتظام.

التطبيق الصارم ممكن لأننا نعطي الأولوية لتطوير الخبرة في الموضوع مع إتاحة فرص منتظمة لموظفينا للقيام بالتطوير المهني ، بغض النظر عن مرحلة حياتهم المهنية. هذا لتحسين وتعزيز المعرفة الموضوعية ورفع معايير التدريس والتعلم في المناهج الدراسية الأوسع. يجب أن يشمل التدريس الجيد والتعلم في المناهج الدراسية الأوسع ؛

● الفرص التي تبني على معرفة وفهم التلاميذ ؛

● نوايا ونتائج واضحة للتعلم ؛

● التقييم التكويني للجودة بما في ذلك الأسئلة الموجهة ؛

● الاستجابة للفجوات في التعلم من أجل تطوير فهم العالم من حولهم ؛

● نمذجة المعلم والأقران للمفاهيم والمهارات والمعرفة وتطبيق التعلم ؛

● فرص التعلم الموجهة والمستقلة ، المخطط لها بعناية ؛

● التدريس الصريح لموضوع معين من المستوى 3 والمفردات المناسبة من المستوى 2 ؛

● فرص منتظمة لممارسة المفاهيم الأساسية والمهارات والمعرفة ؛

● التحدي المناسب لجميع المتعلمين بما في ذلك التعديل عند الضرورة ؛

● فرص لتطبيق مهارات القراءة والكتابة والحساب بشكل هادف.

عندما يتم التخطيط لسلسلة من الدروس ، فإننا نفكر في أفضل السبل للمشاركة والإلهام من أجل تشجيع أطفالنا على طرح الأسئلة وإجراء اتصالات مع تعلمهم السابق - يمكن أن يشمل ذلك: استخدام مجموعة من المحفزات كخطاف لبدء وحدة من العمل أو أخذ التعلم في اتجاه مختلف.

يوفر منهجنا مجموعة من الخبرات التي تمكن الأطفال من فهم ما تم تدريسه وفهم أن التعلم يمكن أن يحدث خارج الفصل الدراسي. وهذا يعني أن هناك فرصًا مخططة لأطفالنا لزيارة المؤسسات الثقافية المختلفة على أبواب منازلهم مرة واحدة على الأقل سنويًا بالإضافة إلى زيارة أماكن خارج المنطقة المحلية ، مما يعزز التعلم في مواضيع أخرى. على سبيل المثال ، سيقوم الأطفال في السنة الرابعة بإجراء عمل ميداني على نهر محلي كجزء من موضوع نهر أكبر.

لقد تم التخطيط لها بطريقة تجعل التجارب مبنية على الزيارات السابقة. يُنظر إلى هذه الزيارات والتجارب الثقافية على أنها حيوية ومحورية في رحلة التعلم. نظرًا لموقعنا الحضري ، فإننا ندرك أيضًا أهمية توفير فرص منظمة للتعلم في الخارج: داخل مدرسة الغابات الخاصة بنا ومناطق الحدائق المجتمعية مع التركيز بشكل خاص على تطوير المعرفة والمهارات العلمية.

لقد طورنا على وجه التحديد فرصًا ضمن مناهجنا الدراسية لتعكس تنوع مجتمعنا والبناء على معارفهم السابقة ، والتي قد تكون مختلفة عن أقرانهم أو تلك الخاصة بالأطفال في أجزاء أخرى من البلاد. نحن ندرك أن العديد من أطفالنا وأولياء أمورهم يأتون إلى المدرسة مع "أموال المعرفة" الخاصة وأن هذه الخبرات والمعرفة والمهارات العميقة والمتنوعة تشكل وتعزز المحادثات والصلات والتعلم في المدرسة للأطفال والكبار على حد سواء. ومن ثم فإن مهمتنا هي تشكيل هذه المعرفة وإعطاء الأطفال الأدوات اللازمة للمشاركة بشكل متماسك مع الآخرين ، وتطبيقها على سياقات أو جوانب أخرى من المنهج.

يتم استخدام منظمي المعرفة لدعم التعليم المسبق للمفردات والمفاهيم الأساسية ؛ تقوية الروابط بين المنزل والمدرسة ؛ إعطاء الأولوية للمحادثات عالية الجودة في المنزل.

يتم تحديد نقاط النهاية لكل موضوع ويتم تقييم المهارات أو المعرفة الخاصة الأكثر أهمية لإطلاق منهج العام التالي. يتم بعد ذلك إعادة النظر في أي فجوات في المعرفة أو الفهم أو تطوير المهارات الحيوية على حد سواء مباشرة بعد موضوع ثم في بداية موضوع أو عام جديد. يجب أن يكون نهج الاسترجاع هذا مريحًا للأطفال حيث أن التوقع هو أن يبدأ كل درس باسترجاع بعض التعلم السابق أو توضيح المفاهيم الخاطئة ؛ جنبًا إلى جنب مع تعليمات المفردات المباشرة أو التوضيح.

من خلال التقييم المنتظم للمخاطر المنخفضة ، يتم منح أطفالنا فرصًا لإثبات فهمهم لما تم تدريسه وتطبيقه بطرق مختلفة.

logo.png

Curriculum Vision 

At Medlock Primary School, our curriculum is designed to recognise and celebrate the diversity of the community we serve. It provides meaningful learning experiences that enable our children to be able to actively engage with the world around them. 

Our curriculum encourages our pupils to be curious, thoughtful, active and resilient learners. It demands that children and adults love learning: to make connections, ask questions and think critically about the world they live in. 

Our curriculum ensures that every meaningful learning experience the children encounter is a stepping stone for the next stage in their education. We encourage our children to find their voices; whatever form that may take providing opportunities for self expression. It promotes the use of language. Communication through all mediums: spoken language, the written word and information technology platforms. 

At its heart our curriculum ensures pupils challenge preconceptions about the world they live in, use empathy and kindness to speak up for what is right - informed by their understanding of British Values - and better equips them to prepare for their lives beyond Medlock Primary School.

Curriculum Intent

 

At Medlock, we follow our own sequenced curriculum in EYFS, scaffolded by the statutory guidance of the Early Years Curriculum and then follow the programmes of study in the National Curriculum for all subjects in years 1-6.

 

In mathematics, we follow the Maths No Problem scheme from Years 1-6, which meets the requirements set out in the National Curriculum. We believe that knowledge and skills are both vital to building understanding and so we ensure that our curriculum is knowledge engaged.

 

Some subjects, such as Art, DT, PE and music place a greater emphasis on the development of skills but are enriched by knowledge of people and events and work of significance. In other subjects, such as science, children learn skills alongside knowledge and both are explicitly developed. New knowledge is taught first and then is enhanced by the development of skills.

Our Curriculum is deliberately constructed to ensure that it is progressive; sequenced in such a way that it builds: within a lesson, from lesson to lesson and from year to year. Opportunities are explicitly planned for children to revisit and develop concepts and skills in subsequent years. Where possible, links are also made between and across subjects for example in year 2’s topic on Oceans they will explore major oceans and continents of the world alongside a closer understanding of marine habitats in science as well as a significant figure: Jacques Cousteau.

 

We believe that this approach is especially important to enable learning to stick. Within subjects, core strands have been identified and these are revisited, meaning children have opportunities to make links and demonstrate their understanding of these core concepts year on year. For example, in history, the children will encounter the idea of settlement within different historical time periods. This is supported by ensuring that each year, the skills that children are taught or use become progressively more challenging so that they have the tools to best demonstrate and apply the knowledge that they have remembered.

 

There is an expectation that those delivering our curriculum have a secure understanding of what the children have already learnt and where their piece of the puzzle fits. To support this, teachers have opportunities to plan within teams, across year groups and phases, as well as with subject specialists and senior leaders.

All pupils at Medlock study the full curriculum; it is not narrowed for anybody. We have the same high ambition for all our pupils and so scaffold learning so that it is as demanding as possible for all pupils, particularly those with SEND. Where interventions are necessary, we rotate them so that the same learning and experiences are not missed regularly by the same pupils.

 

Rigorous implementation is possible because we prioritise the development of subject expertise with regular opportunities for our staff to undertake professional development, regardless of the stage of their career. This is to both improve and enhance their subject knowledge and to raise standards of teaching and learning in the wider curriculum. Good teaching and learning in the wider curriculum should include;

● Opportunities which build on pupils’ knowledge and understanding;

● Clear learning intentions and outcomes;

● Quality formative assessment including targeted questioning;

● Respond to gaps in learning in order to develop an understanding of the world around them;

● Teacher and peer modeling of concepts, skills, knowledge and application of learning;

● Guided and independent learning opportunities, carefully planned;

● Explicit teaching of subject specific tier 3 and appropriate tier 2 vocabulary;

● Regular opportunities to practice key concepts, skills and knowledge;

● Appropriate challenge for all learners including modification where necessary;

● Opportunities to meaningfully apply literacy and numeracy skills.

When a series of lessons is planned we consider how best to engage and inspire in order to encourage our children to ask questions and make connections with their prior learning - this could include: using a range of stimuli as a hook to start off a unit of work or to take learning in a different direction.

 

Our curriculum provides a range of experiences which enable children to make sense of what they have been taught and to understand that learning can take place beyond the classroom. This means that there are planned opportunities for our children to visit the various cultural institutions on their doorsteps at least once a year as well as visiting places outside the local area, which enhances learning in other themes. For example, children in year 4 will conduct fieldwork on a local river as part of a larger river topic.

They are planned in such a way that the experiences build upon previous visits. These visits and cultural experiences are seen as vital and central to the learning journey. Due to our urban locality, we also recognise the importance of providing structured opportunities for learning to take place outside: within our own Forest School and community garden areas with a particular focus on development of scientific knowledge and skills.

 

We have specifically developed opportunities within our curriculum to reflect the diversity of our community and build on their own prior knowledge, which may be different to their peers or that of children in other parts of the country. We recognise that many of our children and their parents come to school with particular ‘funds of knowledge’ and that these deep and varied experiences, knowledge and skills shape and enhance conversations, connections and learning at school for children and adults alike. It is then our task to shape this knowledge and to give children the necessary tools to share coherently with others, and to apply it to other contexts or aspects of the curriculum.

Knowledge organisers are used to support the pre-teaching of vocabulary and core concepts; strengthening home/school links; prioritising quality conversations at home.

 

The end points for each topic are identified and those skills or particular knowledge that are most important to unlock the following year’s curriculum are assessed. Any gaps in knowledge, understanding or development of vital skills are then revisited both straight after a topic and then at the beginning of a new topic or year. This approach to retrieval should be comfortable for the children as the expectation is that each lesson begins with some retrieval of previous learning or clarification of misconceptions; alongside direct vocabulary instruction or clarification.

 

Through regular low stakes assessment, our children are given opportunities to demonstrate their understanding of what they have been taught and apply it in different ways.

  • Twitter
  • YouTube

T: 0161 273 1830

© Medlock Primary School 2019